SIBA Supper, 2010

This weekend I had the tremendous honor of speaking at the Author’s Supper during the Southern Independent Booksellers Alliance Trade Show in Daytona Beach, Florida.  I’d never been to Daytona Beach before.  I hoped it would involve body shots and foam parties and tropical drinks that come in plastic tubes with carrying handles, but it was the off-season.  Anyway, I took a picture of Daytona Beach with my phone from the veranda of the hotel.  Also, here’s a video of me, after a few glasses of wine and half a rubber chicken, blithering my way through the audience question, “Tell us about your book.”  (I was first in line before Emma Donahue, Walter Mosley and Fannie Flagg.)  The generous introduction is by Jake Reiss of the Alabama Booksmith.

It was fun to be in the South this weekend, albeit for less than twenty-four hours.  In the morning, before I headed to the airport, I ate breakfast at the hotel, where they served biscuits-and-gravy that tasted exactly the way my mom makes them.  It made me feel like I was ten years old, watching Sunday morning cartoons.

Leave a comment

Filed under Apes, Literature, The Evolution of Bruno Littlemore, Twelve Books, Writing

Leave a Reply

